International Curriculum

Vasant Valley School is offering the Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) for Grades 9 and 10.



World’s most popular international qualification for 14 to 16  year-olds.

Core of the IGCSE curriculum emphasizes a practical approach to learning based on inquiry.

Cambridge IGCSE develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in:

Subject content
Applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as familiar situations
Intellectual enquiry
Flexibility and responsiveness to change
Working and communicating in English
Influencing outcomes
Cultural awareness.

Provides an ideal foundation for higher-level courses such as the International Baccalaureate Diploma Programme, 'A' Levels and the North American APT (Advanced Placement Test).

Has worldwide recognition and is equivalent to the Certificate of Secondary Education from Indian education boards, General Certificate of Secondary Education, and 'O' Level.

Why IGCSE at Vasant Valley School?

The teaching-learning process in Vasant Valley School is synchronised to the methods followed by the Cambridge Board.

The essence of our pedagogy is ‘learning for understanding’ and reading beyond course books, which epitomises the IGCSE philosophy.

In the two-year IGCSE programme, students of Classes IX and X study a range of subjects on offer which gives students a more rounded education.


IGCSE Learner Attributes

The IGCSE curriculum and assessments are designed with the following Cambridge learner attributes in mind:

Confident in working with information and ideas - their own and those of others

Responsible for themselves, responsive to and respectful of others

Reflective as learners, developing their ability to learn

Innovative and equipped for new and future challenges

Engaged intellectually and socially, ready to make a difference

List of subjects offered at Vasant Valley School

Students will select 9 subjects in Grade 9 as follows:

Mandatory English Language
Global Perspectives
Elective 1 Spanish/Hindi/(French *to be studied privately)
Elective 2 English Literature, Information and Communication Technology
Elective 3 Economics, Physics, History
Elective 4 Extended Mathematics
Elective 5 Biology, Coordinated Sciences, Economics
Elective 6 Art and Design, Computer Science
Elective 7 Chemistry, Business Studies, Environmental Management

Cambridge ICE

The Cambridge ICE certificate is a group award designed for schools that want to offer a broad curriculum. Students enter and sit for a minimum of seven subjects selected from the five IGCSE curriculum areas:

Group 1- Languages

Group 2- Humanities

Group 3- Sciences

Group 4- Mathematics

Group 5- Creative and Vocational


Cambridge ICE is awarded to students who pass in at least seven Cambridge IGCSE subjects, including two from Group 1 and one from each of Groups 2 to 5. The seventh subject may be chosen from any of the syllabus groups.

Students who qualify for the Cambridge ICE award will be placed in one of three categories:

Distinction- Grade A or better in five subjects and grade C or better in two subjects.
Merit- Grade C or better in five subjects and grade F or better in two subjects.
Pass- Grade G or better in seven subjects.


We are grateful to our alumni, Ishaan Gupta (Class of 2006), Medha Vira Gupta (Class of 2009) and Samvid Gupta (Class of 2010) for their generous support in creating the website.