News & Events

24th Vasant Valley School Debate for the India Today Cup – Final Round

19 October 2022

The 24th edition of the Vasant Valley School Debate For The India Today Cup was held on the 18th and 19th of October, 2022. Students from over 23 schools engaged in meaningful dialogues and discourse on contemporary issues of social, economic and political significance.  The final day consisted of fierce competition among the top 4 teams –

Vasant Valley School    v/s The Doon School, Dehradun

Sardar Patel Vidyalaya  v/s DPS International, Saket.

After a nuanced and enriching semi-final round, Vasant Valley School and DPS International, Saket made it to the finals. Vasant Valley School team comprised Aryan Goyal, Aryan Agarwal and Siddhant Nagrath while Hans Deepak, Amira Bhutani and  Sarah Sahdev represented DPS International, Saket.

The motion for Grand Finals was-  This house would choose to stay in the “Protected Place.” For the purpose of the debate, “The Protected Place” was considered to be a realm where individuals would be constantly content and happy at a certain level, without the exact knowledge of what exists outside of it. What is known is that, in the outside world, there would be a possibility of general suffering such as economic disparity and societal unhappiness (which would not be existent in the “Protected Place”), but also that there would be a possibility of an even more intense level of individual happiness.

DPS International, Saket spoke for the motion and Vasant Valley School played the role of opposition. Following the gruelling, well-rounded and incredibly engaging debate, throughout which the audience was on tenterhooks, the adjudicators provided their invaluable feedback and praised the ever improving quality of the tournament. The announcement of the 2022 champions witnessed an eruption of thunderous applause and cheers, as  the chairperson, Ms. Rekha Purie presented the coveted India Today Cup to Vasant Valley School.

Though parting with the trophy was difficult, Vasant Valley School decided to graciously award it to the well-deserving runner ups team- DPS International, Saket making it a fitting conclusion to a brilliant tournament.

By Sumaya Beri (Class 11)

We are grateful to our alumni, Ishaan Gupta (Class of 2006), Medha Vira Gupta (Class of 2009) and Samvid Gupta (Class of 2010) for their generous support in creating the website.