News & Events

Hwa Chong Students Leaders Convention

27 May 2023 - 1 June 2023

Vasant Valley School sent a cohort of eight students from Class 12,  to take part in the Students Leaders Convention organized by Hwa Chong Institution, Singapore. The convention provided an invaluable platform for students to exchange ideas, build networks, and cultivate leadership qualities that will undoubtedly shape their future endeavours. With the participation of 300 students from 25 schools, the event showcased the immense potential and dedication of young leaders across the globe.

The pivotal impact that our time at the 28th HWA CHONG convention had on us cannot be overstated. It was an incredible experience. We got to meet other students from all over the world and had the pleasure of gaining valuable experiences, as well as forming memorable friendships. We were all divided into different groups and all of us had the chance to discuss different topics with our peers and gain knowledge on said topics from different perspectives. There was never a dull moment throughout the convention as parties, mass games, night fiestas and various other activities were being conducted all the time. This opportunity forced us out of our comfort zones, removing the tinted lens from the front of our eyes, while simultaneously honing our skills in communication, presentation, ideation and logical thinking. This event allowed the students to take initiative and bring their creativity to the forefront, inspiring confidence in their abilities and giving them a feel of their hidden potential. Through our experiences in the dorms of the HWA Chong boarding School, we were given a sliver of the taste of how living in college would be. It was like tipping our toes into the real world outside of our bubble of privilege and this gave us an insight into how we would be sharing our space with other students. Overall, this was a unique and enriching learning experience for us through which we gained some invaluable knowledge and memories.

– Vishwadeep Singh and Rehan Tomer with inputs from Anant Bagrodia, Ritwick Sapra and Ruhan Kumar

We are grateful to our alumni, Ishaan Gupta (Class of 2006), Medha Vira Gupta (Class of 2009) and Samvid Gupta (Class of 2010) for their generous support in creating the website.