News & Events

The 16th Vasant Valley Debate for the India Today Cup

22 October 2013 - 23 October 2013

A total of 26 schools participated, out of which 13 of these schools were from out of Delhi. The judges for all the rounds were Delhi University students who are experienced college level debaters. They gave constructive feedback to the students after every round, clearly explaining the reasons for their decisions, a fact that was appreciated by a number of students.

A high point of the event was the exhibition debate on the second day, something which all the schools found informative and very enjoyable. The motion for the exhibition debate was “This House would ban all songs with misogynist lyrics”.

The topic in the final was “This house believes that a ‘Truth and Reconciliation Commission’ is preferable to a ‘War Tribunal’”. LACAS won the India Today Cup for the second time in a row.

Results of the Contest:

Preliminary Round

Pool A : Modern School Barakhamba(won), Welham Boys School, Gyan Bharti School and Delhi Public School Vasant Kunj, Best Speaker : Siddhant Bajaj, Modern School Barakhamba
Pool B : Mothers International School, Sardar Patel Vidyalaya(won), Convent of Jesus and Mary and Assam Valley, Best Speaker : Raghav Adlakha, Sardar Patel Vidyalaya
Pool C : Tagore International School, The Doon School(won) and Mayo College Girls School, Best Speaker : Pulkit Agarwal, The Doon School
Pool D : Bishop Cotton(won), Vivek High, and New Era Public School, Best Speaker : Roshan Menon, New Era Public School
Pool E : La Martniere Boys School, Shishya School, and LACAS (won) , Best Speaker : Safa Dar, LACAS
Pool F : Modern School Vasant Vihar, Cathedral and John Connon School(won) and The Shri Ram School Aravali, Best Speaker : Pravadh Singh, Cathedral and John Connon School
Pool G : Sherwood College, Gems Modern Academy and Mayo College Ajmer(won), Best Speaker : Pranav Parrath , Mayo College Ajmer
Pool H : Vasant Valley School, Birla Vidya Niketan and The Sri Ram School, Maulsari(won), Best Speaker : Ankita Niyogi, The Sri Ram School, Maulsari

Quarter Finals

1. The Sri Ram School, Maulsari (won) VS. Cathedral and John Connon School, Best Speaker : Tejus Luthra, The Sri Ram School Maulsari
2. The Doon School (won) VS. Gyan Bharti School, Best Speaker : Pulkit Agarwal, The Doon School
3. Sardar Patel Vidyalaya(won) VS. Bishop Cotton School, Best Speaker : Rhea Kumar, Sardar Patel Vidyalaya
4. LACAS (won) VS. Mayo Boys College, Best Speaker : Safa Dar, LACAS

Semi- Finals

1. Sardar Patel Vidyalaya VS. LACAS(won), Best Speaker : Ammaima Raja, LACAS
2. The Doon School ( won) VS. The Sri Ram School, Maulsari, Best Speaker : Pulkit Agarwal, The Doon School


1. LACAS(won) VS. The Doon School, Best Speaker : Safa Dar, LACAS, Second Best Speaker : Ammaima Raja, LACAS, Third Best Speaker : Usama Lali, LACAS

Congratulations to all the winners!

We are grateful to our alumni, Ishaan Gupta (Class of 2006), Medha Vira Gupta (Class of 2009) and Samvid Gupta (Class of 2010) for their generous support in creating the website.